The opinions expressed by columnists are their own and do not represent our advertisers

Friday, October 02, 2015

Governor Larry Hogan Signs Executive Order Rescinding State of Emergency in Eight Counties

Remaining 16 Jurisdictions Still Under State of Emergency

ANNAPOLIS, MD – Governor Larry Hogan today signed Executive Order 01.01.2015.24 rescinding the state of emergency in eight Maryland counties: Garrett, Allegany, Washington, Frederick, Carroll, Montgomery, Howard, and Prince George’s. Based on the current weather projections and recommendations from the Maryland Emergency Management Agency (MEMA), the remaining 15 Maryland counties and Baltimore City will remain under the state of emergency until further notice. This allows the state to efficiently coordinate resources between jurisdictions to support response operations.
Yesterday, Governor Hogan signed an Executive Order declaring a state of emergency in Maryland in anticipation of heavy rains, potential flooding, and the possibility that Hurricane Joaquin may affect Maryland.
“With the storm moving away from our coasts, we are directing state resources to the counties and areas with the highest potential to need assistance,” said Governor Hogan. “However, the majority of the state still remains under a state of emergency and rain and wind gusts could cause power outages and flooding in low-lying areas. We continue to encourage Marylanders to use common sense and look after family members and neighbors who might need help during this time."
Residents can go to MEMA’s website,, for more flooding and hurricane preparedness information and can follow MEMA’s Twitter feed, @MDMEMA, and Facebook page,, for up-to-date information.
To report power outages, and find additional emergency contact information, visit

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

I'm guessing that the EPA will be about shortly with their little flags marking out 'protected areas'.