The opinions expressed by columnists are their own and do not represent our advertisers

Monday, June 22, 2015

Delaware Decriminalizes Possession, Private Use Of Small Amounts Of Marijuana

Delaware is joining a slew of other states that are loosening up a bit on the private use of marijuana, with legislators in the Senate giving final approval to a measure that decriminalizes the possession and private use of up to an ounce of the drug. Gov. Jack Markell signed it into law almost immediately.

The bill allows residents to have up to an ounce of marijuana and to use it privately without getting into trouble with the law, reports The News Journal, though police are authorized to confiscate marijuana.

Any criminal repercussions for having marijuana will be replaced with a $100 civil fine instead. It’s still illegal to sell marijuana under the law, and anyone under 21 will still face criminal penalties if caught with pot. It’s also still illegal to consume marijuana in a moving vehicle.

“The governor remains committed to reducing the number of people entering the criminal justice system and refocusing resources where they are needed most and House Bill 39 supports these efforts,” a spokeswoman for the governor’s office said in a statement.



Anonymous said...

Stupid people! You can't tax something that is illegal (even though it may be addictive). However, if it's addictive and legal, you can tax the hell out of addicted people as O"Malley has done with tobacco users in MD. It is a taxman's cash cow.

Anonymous said...

Of course this law doesn't go into effect for at least 6 months even though it has been signed into law.

Anonymous said...

About time!